Mrs L Dixon is our English Subject Leader.


It is our intent to provide pupils with a high-quality education in English that will teach pupils to speak, read and write fluently so that they can communicate their ideas and emotions to others effectively.

With regards to Writing, we intend for pupils to be able to plan, revise and evaluate their writing. To be able to do this effectively, pupils will focus on developing effective transcription and effective composition. They will also develop an awareness of the audience, purpose and context, and an increasingly wide knowledge of vocabulary and grammar. We also intend for pupils to leave school being able to use fluent, legible and speedy handwriting with accurate spelling.

With regards to Spelling, we intend for our children to be secure in their phonics knowledge and use blending and segmenting to help them spell accurately. Pupils will be taught how to work out and clarify the meanings of unknown words; words with more than one meaning and the relationships between words.

With regards to Reading, phonics will be emphasised in the early teaching of reading to beginners when they start school.

We intend to encourage all pupils to read widely across both fiction and non-fiction to develop their knowledge of themselves and the world in which they live, to establish an appreciation and love of reading, to gain knowledge across the curriculum and develop their comprehension skills. It is our intention to ensure that, by the end of their primary education, all pupils are able to read fluently, and with confidence, in any subject in their forthcoming secondary education.



In Key Stage One, phonics is taught in small groups following 'Bug Club Phonics'.  A banded reading scheme called ‘Bug Club’, published by Pearson, is used throughout school (supplemented by Oxford Reading Tree) until children are confident ‘free readers’, at which point they are able to select from our well-stocked library.  Children from Year One to Year Six take part in weekly 'guided' reading sessions during which they develop their reading (decoding) and comprehension (understanding) skills and knowledge of the structure and feature of texts.



Children in Key Stage Two are taught grammar, punctuation and spelling within and in addition to the daily English lessons.  These follow the expectations for each year group, as published in the National Curriculum.

Children apply their growing knowledge of grammar, punctuation and spelling to each piece of written work and they have regular opportunities to write within English and across the curriculum.

English Documents

English in Action

Useful Links

Reading Ambassadors

Reading ambassadors from local schools in the Pendle area met to promote a love of reading. 

Related News